Residency Requirements in Florida

Posted in: Florida

Residency, Driver’s Licenses and Voting in Florida
To become an official Florida resident, file a declaration of domicile. The document states that you reside at a certain address and is notarized by the Clerk of the County Court. Contact the Clerk at 561-930-2962.

New residents must register their vehicles in Florida within 10 days of gaining employment or enrolling children in school. To register a vehicle, be prepared to provide the Tax Collector’s office with your current driver’s license, proof of Florida auto insurance, prior registration certificate and ownership title. The vehicle identification number will be verified, and you will need to apply for a Florida license plate. The fee depends on the vehicle’s weight. Newcomers also must apply for a Florida Title Certificate if there is a lien on the vehicle.

The Tax Collector’s Office is responsible for processing applications for titles and issuing registrations for motor vehicles and boats.

South Palm Beach County Courthouse Annex
501 S. Congress Avenue
Delray Beach, FL
Open: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

and Mobile Unit:
Mondays from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the
Boca Raton Police Services Station
100 N.W. Boca Raton Boulevard.
Call 561-930-7922 for additional information, including which documents you must have with you at the time of registration.

Drivers Licenses
Florida law requires that new state residents apply for a Florida driver’s license within 30 days. But first, register your car as noted above.

The Department of Motor Vehicles will need to see proof of your Florida vehicle registration, your out-of-state driver’s license and your social security card. If you own a Florida -registered vehicle, bring the registration as well. If your out-of-state license is valid, you need only take a vision test. A written exam and driver’s test is required if your license is invalid or if you are applying for your first license. The written exam is based on the Florida Driver’s Handbook and the driver must supply the vehicle for the test. A license is valid for six years.

Contact the driver license office at
901 Northwest 39 Avenue
Office hours are Tues-Fri 7:30am-6pm Sat (appt only) 8am-12pm.

Registering to Vote
Any United States citizen who is a permanent resident of Palm Beach County, who will be 18 years of age by election day, and who has never been convicted of a felony or never been declared mentally incompetent (unless their civil rights have been restored) may register to vote. Pre-registration at age 17 is allowed, but eligibility to vote remains at 18 years of age. The Palm Beach County Supervisor of Elections is responsible for registering eligible residents and for maintaining voter registration rolls. Mail-in forms may be obtained at City Hall or voters may register at the South County Courthouse, 345 S. Congress Avenue in Delray Beach or the Supervisor of Elections Office at 301 N. Olive Avenue in West Palm Beach. Forms are also available at many other sites – call 561-276-1226 for locations. Voters may register with or without party affiliation, but only registered Democrats or Republicans may vote in their respective party primaries. All registered voters may vote on referendum issues or for non-partisan candidates.